Posts Tagged "Yas Marina Circuit"

Drift UAE Round 4 at Yas Marina Circuit [RESULTS]


This weekend the Drift UAE season came to an end at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. The Formula 1 track makes a great backdrop for some big action drifting! The Toyota Emirates Drift team driver Ahmed Alamiry with his 2JZ powered Toyota 86 took the victory. Here is how the podium finished for Round 4:
1. Ahmed Alamiry
2.Fredrick Aasland
3.Ahmad Daham
4.Sami Haidar

2015 Formula Drift World Championship Updates


The 2015 Formula Drift world championship has finally produced more details! According to a Formula Drift PR (you can read below) all seven rounds of the US series will be included in the World Championship along with two or three international venues to make a world championship. The PR does note that the venues will be already vetted locations by Formula Drift on some kind of international level or parntership. This should cook up some international petitions we bet for 2015! Here are the possible and realistic places I think they could be traveling for the international rounds:

1. Fuji Speedway
2. Kuala Lumpur
3. Melbourne, Australia
4. Autodrome St. Eustache
5. Yas Marina Circuit
6. Pathumthani Speedway (Thailand)


Formula DRIFT has announced additional information on the 2015 World Championship that include details on event rounds and locations, competition format, confirmation of all Formula DRIFT Pro licenses to be valid for the World Championship and the petition process for international drivers.

The World Championship will encompass all US Formula DRIFT Championship rounds plus two to three international rounds. The select international rounds will be vetted by Formula DRIFT through the 2014 season with all existing Formula DRIFT international rounds to be considered, including previous international venues.

The competition format will be based off the traditional top 32 head-to-head format. Formula DRIFT also confirms that all Formula DRIFT Pro Licenses are considered valid for the World Championship as well as selected Formula Drift Affiliate Series drivers will be eligible as well, while all other international drivers will need to go through a petition process in order to qualify. Additionally, three selected rounds of the World Championship will constitute its own Triple Crown with a prize pool of a possible USD $100,000.

“We have laid out the groundwork to complete this ambitious task in front of us in an effort to help bring the sport of drifting to the next level,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT.

Drift UAE Round 2 at Yas Marina Circuit [RESULTS]

After bad weather somehow delayed this second run of the Drift UAE series they threw the event again on Friday night at the Yas Marina Circuit. Ahmed Alamri and Sami Haidar went at it in a great final battle but Alamri ended up spinning on the second run giving Sami the win in his Drift 965 S13. Here is how the top four finished up this weekend in the Emirate:

1. Sami Haidar (Kuwait)
2. Ahmed Alameri (UAE)
3. Mohammed Alasmi (Oman)
4. Mutah Alessa (Saudi Arabi)

Abdo Feghali Beats Guinness World Record for Longest Drift – 11,180 meters

Yas Marina Circuit went up in smoke as Abdo Feghali busted the Guinness World Record for the longest drift in Abu Dhabi completing 43 laps of a set course for a total time of 14.18 minutes. The new record stands at 11,180 meters (36,679.8 feet) for the Redbull Athlete. “It was a great challenge for me, as I always wanted to attempt breaking the Guinness World Record for the longest drift on a vehicle, “ admits Adbdo Feghali.


Formula Drift Yas Marina Circuit – Main Event [GALLERY 1]

Check out our first gallery from the Middle East’s main event. The Yas Marina gallery features some great content from the main event on Friday night. We also have another 200+ image gallery coming out later today with even more in depth coverage from this historical drifting event on a Formula 1 circuit.

Check Out the Gallery:

2011 Formula Drift Abu Dhabi – Practice, Paddock, and Ferrari World [GALLERY]

Formula 1’s Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, UAE was raped by some of the worlds most skilled drifters in old competition cars. Unless you have been reading some other non updated drifting websites for the last month we are sure you have heard abuzz about this event. Here is the first installment of our gallery coverage from the event which shows off the paddocks, some practice daytime runs, the Formula Drift trip to Ferrari World, and some kart racing around Yas Marina.

Check out the Gallery:

Fredric Aasbo takes First Place at Yas Marina [RESULTS]

After a series of heated battles, close calls, and a lost headlight, 2010 Rookie of the Year Fredric Aasbo took home First Place at the first ever Formula Drift “Urban Skillz” Abu Dhabi Demo in the Team Need for Speed Supra. Behind him was Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy 350Z bringing home Second, and Tanner Foust in the Rockstar Energy Scion TC in Third.

Congratulations to the Fredric on the Victory! We’re excited to see what he brings to the table come Long Beach in the new Papadakis Racing 2011 Scion TC as it looks like he’s on target to fill the shoes Tanner Foust is leaving behind. What do you guys think?

DriftStream Does Interviews at Yas Marina Circuit with Drivers/Staff [VIDEOS]

The DriftStream has put up some videos as a pre cursor to the weekends event at Yas Marina Circuit. It’s currently Wednesday night over in the Middle East (12 hours ahead from PST) and we are just under 48 hours until go time at the first Formula Drift event in the Middle East. Below is a list of links to find interviews with teams/drivers and Formula Drift staff on their feelings about the Yas Marina Circuit event coming up.

Yas Marina Circuit Pre Event Videos from Drift Stream
Ryan Sage –
Fredric Aasbo –
Chris Forsberg –
Ken Gushi –
Jim Liaw –
Tony Brakohiapa –
Michael Essa –
Tanner Foust –

Formula Drift at Yas Marina Circuit is 1 Week Away

In just seven days Formula Drift will be kicking off in the Middle East! We are heading out of town next week to cover the event in person at the Formula 1 Yas Marina Circuit. This snapshot posted on the Yas Marina Facebook Page shows just how amazing and fun this event is going to be! The site has been full all year about hype leading up to this event and judging by this photograph it won’t disappoint one bit! The countdown has begun at t-minus one week.


Formula Drift UAE Drivers List Officially Official

Here is about the seventeenth post we have done on UAE drivers but this is the officially official one from Formula Drift. First let’s cover tickets and how you get them. You can buy tickets for Formula Drift UAE at this link or you have several other options of purchasing. Tickets can also be purchased through the Yas Marina Call Centre at: 800-YAS-(927) or the international number at +971 (0) 2 446 0384 (Everyday from 9 AM – 6 PM). Tickets can be purchased directly at the Yas Marina Circuit at the East and West Entrance Gate Welcome Centre, Yas Marina Hotel, and Ferrari World Abu Dhabi Yas Marina Circuit Kiosk. In addition, tickets may also be purchased at select Virgin Megastores around the UAE starting next week. For the rest of you not traveling or living in the Middle East it will be aired on the Driftstream Saturday February 25th.

2011 Formula Drift UAE Drivers List
Fredric Aasbo
Chris Forsberg
Tanner Foust
Ryan Tuerck
“Mad Mike” Whiddett
Daijiro Yoshihara
Ken Gushi
Michael Essa
Tony Brakohiapa (alternative driver)