2015 Formula Drift Pro 2 Driver Preview – Dan Burkett


Master of the Mullett, “Rad” Dan Burkett earned his license in the Just Drift Top Drift Pro Am in 2014 as an alternate to Spike Chen, who had earned his license in 2013 and Dan finished in fourth overall. While Rad Dan drove in a V8 powered FC37 RX7 in Top Drift, he’s bringing along a 2JZ powered Toyota Supra MKIV for the 2015 Formula Drift Pro2 season. So, not only is Dan Burkett going to have to get used to a new, larger car but a Turbo By Garrett powered Toyota I6. He’s not going to short on power, but he won’t be able to use the broad torque-band of the LS-power plant he had in ProAm. His suspension duties will be handled by FEAL coilovers and a Wisefab Supra Angle kit.

-by Justin Banner
Check out below for videos of Faruk Kugay’s driving:
Read More…

Formula Drift Pro 2 Driver Preview – Donovan Brockway


So it looks like Andy Hately won’t be the only E30 in Formula Drift in 2015 as Donovan Brockway coming out of NorCal is bringing the classic styled coupe to Pro2. Donovan nearly earned his license twice. He came in third in the 2014 season Just Drift’s Top Drift Pro Am and missed a third place in the 2014 Golden Gate Drift Pro Am season by just 22 points. His E30 is a top notch chassis and powered by a supercharged BMW S54 engine built by VAC Motorsports and a Samsonas Sequential transmission. He’ll also use a Wisefab/Ground Control combo for suspension duties of his 26-yearold chassis. Despite its age, Donovan’s Red Baron Racing and North Bay Bavarian build looks solid in pre-season testing and could be a threat for the 2015 Pro2 season.


-by Justin Banner

Thanks to Mark Brooks for the Photo!

Check out below for videos of Donovan Brockway driving:
Read More…

Formula Drift Pro 2 Driver Preview – Faruk Kugay

Faruk Kugay, who was born in Vejle, Poland, now hails from San Francisco and earned his license from the Golden Gate Drift Pro Am. He also regularly competed in the Vegas Drift Pro Am in 2014, as well as going back and forth in Europe for drifting and working as the importer for Wisefab in the US. So, if your car has a Wisefab kit, you can probably thank Faruk for bringing it to your local parts dealer. His Nissan S14 is known as Raze ‘till and it looks to Raise Hell in the 2015 Pro2 championship with power coming from a 2JZ and, of course, a Wisefab suspension kit.

-by Justin Banner

Check out below for videos of Faruk Kugay’s driving:
Read More…

Formula Drift Pro 2 Driver Preview – Brody Goble


Another driver making his way over the great white north of Canada is Brody Goble and while has a great passion for drifting, Brody does more. Much like drivers Tanner Foust, Tyler McQuarrie, and Conrad Grunewald, Brody participates in road racing. He began racing in karts in 2005 placing as high as ninth in the 2007 Las Vegas Supernationals racing against guys like Buddy Rice and Dan Wheldon. He was awarded a Formula BMW Open Wheel Test in 2008, gained his FIA license in 2009 while going to college, earned the CACC Canada Sports Car Rookie of the Year in 2011, placed first in a 6-hour enduro racing a Ford BOSS 302 S in 2013, and first at the BBR Portland one-hour endure in the same BOSS in 2014. Brody has also been a precision driver for several OEM launches and commercials and is a driving instructor for Ferrari/Maserati Vancover. To say that he doesn’t have driving talent would be an understatement and his 403-cubic inch LSX-powered S13 is tuned by The Independent Speed Shop’s William Bowering. He will also have the support of Ian Stewart from ASD for 2015.

-by Justin Banner

Check out below for videos of Brody Goble driving:

Read More…

Charles Ng Chasing Down Michael Essa at Road Atlanta [VIDEO]

Strap in with Charles Ng as he chases down Michael Essa at Formula Drift Road Atlanta. The angle coming out of Michael Essa’s Chevrolet Camaro is beyond insane as he runs through the horseshoe.

Formula Drift Pro 2 Preview – Alex Heilbrunn


Alex Heilbrunn comes has been racing since he was 12, but instead of pistons and four wheels he stared off in Downhill Mountain Bike racing. It’s an exciting form of fast racing with human power and he was pretty good at it while he lived in his home country of Peru. In 2007 he was the Latin American Champion and from 2004 to 2008 Alex won the Peruvian National Championship. In 2009, he went from human power and two wheels to four in touring and rally cars which lead him to go drifting. In 2013 he earned the Peruvian Drifting Championship and bigger sponsors that wanted him to come to America. In 2014, Alex competed in Top Drift, Vegas Drift, and Golden Gate Drift Pro Ams and earned his license for the 2015 Pro2 season. His E46 BMW M3 is a LS3-powered “Monster” that his team, Inca Madness Racing, built for dominance. He’s suppored by Falken Tire, Primax, and Mobil 1.

-by Justin Banner

Check out below for videos of Alex Heilbrunn driving:
Read More…

Dean Kearney Takes on Road Atlanta [VIDEO]

The Thirsty Film team captured a highlight reel of Dean Kearney performing in his Oracle Lighting Dodge Viper. The Achilles team has been adapting and building this Dodge Viper chassis over the past couple seasons has been huge! Dean Kearney carries some great sponsors such as SPEC Clutch to help with the difficulty of developing this chassis.

2015 Drift Mania Round 2 at Riverside Speedway [RESULTS]


The second round of DMCC is in the books with a great event in St. Croix, Quebec at the Riverside Speedway. Here is how the event podium finished up –

1. Jeff Laflamme
2. Jonathan Guitard
3. Tommy Boiverts-Bellemare

2015 Southwest Drift Round 3 at LVMS [RESULTS]


Southwest Drift Round 3 fired off at Las Vegas Motor Speedway for a great weekend in the south drag lot. Once the Great 8 hit the tandem battles went insane and many of the battles were door to door action! Zach and his Nissan 350z took top honors. The judges were a star studded cast of Forrest Wang, Odi Bakchis, and Tommy Suell. Here are the results:

1st Place – Zach MacGillivray
2nd Place – Trenton Beechum
3rd Place – Ethan Hunter

Inside Orlando Speed World – Home of Formula Drift Round 3

Screenshot 2015-05-31 13.53.10
The Orlando Speed World track has undergone major surgery and paved a ton of space to usher in the welcome of Formula Drift next week. A track in the past that was rumored to make Wall Speedway look like a Ritz Carlton is now set to host a Formula Drift weekend. Check out below to see a bunch of video that will introduce you to the new track.

Read More…

Advertisement Advertisement