Matt Powers

2013 Formula Drift Long Beach Grand Prix SuperDrift Qualifying Order [RESULTS]

Mike Essa took home the top qualifying spot, scraping both walls between turns 9 and 10 and putting on a show for the Long Beach Grand Prix crowd! Several drivers had car problems, and may or may not return tomorrow. Qualifying was a best of two runs affair, with drivers who failed to make a pass being ranked based on their 2013 FD points standings. Walker Wilkerson turned his first wheels on track for 2013, while drivers like Jeff Jones and Forrest Wang continued to look strong and built off of their performances last weekend.

Here’s the qualifying order:

1st – Mike Essa

2nd – Matt Powers

3rd – Robbie Nishida

4th – Forrest Wang

5th – Odi Bakchis

6th – Freddy Aasbo

7th – Jeff Jones

8th – Toshiki Yoshioka

9th – Ryan Kado

10th – Jhonnattan Castro

11th – Pat Mordaunt

12th – Walker Wilkerson

13th – Chelsea Denofa (transmission)

14th – Daigo Saito (misfire)

15th – Kyle Mohan (apex seal)

16th – Pat Goodin (axle)

Here are how the tandem matchups will work tomorrow:

Essa vs Goodin
Yoshioka vs Kado

Wang vs Denofa
Bakchis vs Wilkerson

Powers vs Mohan
Jones vs Castro

Nishda vs Saito
Aasbo vs Mordaunt

2013 Formula Drift Long Beach Grand Prix SuperDrift Updated Drivers List

Formula D has posted a new roster of drivers that will be competing this weekend at the SuperDrift challenge in conjunction with Long Beach Grand Prix. Here’s the list:

– Fredric Aasbo
– Aurimas “Odi” Bakchis
– Jhonnattan Castro
– Chelsea Denofa
– Mike Essa
– Patrick Goodin
– Jeff Jones
– Ryan Kado
– Kyle Mohan
– Patrick Mordaunt
– Robbie Nishida
– Matt Powers
– Daigo Saito
– Forrest Wang
– Walker Wilkerson
– Toshiki Yoshioka

Compared to this previous list, there are several major names missing including Chris Forsberg, Conrad Grunewald, Tyler McQuarrie, Ryan Tuerck, Dai Yoshihara, and Tony Angelo. New names on the list include Jhonnattan Castro, Pat Goodin, Jeff Jones, Pat Mordaunt, Forrest Wang, and Walker Wilkerson. How do you feel about this new roster?

Championship Points standings after Formula D Long Beach [STANDINGS]

With the first round out of the way, Dai Yoshihara leads the points by taking the win along with earning top qualifier. 2012 champion Daigo Saito sits in 10th place after getting knocked out in the round of 16 by Freddy Aasbo, matching his worst finish from 2012. JR was the last champion to win the Long Beach event and go on to win the championship back in 2010, it will be interesting to see if Dai Yoshihara can repeat that. Who’s your favorite to win the 2013 championship after Long Beach?

1. Daijiro Yoshihara                    112 points

2. Vaughn Gittin Jr.                     92 points

3. Chris Forsberg                        79 points

4. Chelsea DeNofa                      75 points

5. Kenny Moen                         65 points

6. Darren McNamara                   64 points

6. Ryan Tuerck                           64 points

8. Fredric Aasbo                       63 points

9. Ken Gushi                               62 points

9. Michael Essa                           62 points

11. Daigo Saito                           57 points

12. Aurimas”Odi” Bakchis           56 points

13. Ryan Kado                            55 points

14. Matt Powers                          55 points

15. Patrick Mordaunt                   54.5 points

16. Justin Pawlak                         54.5 points

Formula Drift Round 1 Long Beach Qualifying [RESULTS]

After one of the longest qualifying sessions in Formula Drift history. Dai Yoshihara takes takes the number one qualifier spot. The rest of the qualifying order is below.

32 Tyler Mcquarrie
31 Dennis Mertzanis
30 Enrique Mendoza
29 Carl Ryquist
28 Miro Ovcharik
27 Pat Goodin
26 Jeff Jones
25 Danny George
24 Toshiki Yoshioka
23 Justin Pawlak
22 Pat Mordaunt
21 Joon Maeng
20 Robbie Nishida
19 Kyle Mohan
18 Jhonnattan Castro
17 Matt Field
16 Matt powers
15 Chris Forsberg
14 Ken Gushi
13 Ryan Kado
12 Odi Bakchis
11 Taka Aono
10 Forrest Wang
9 Freddy Aasbo
8 Daigo Saito
7 Ryan Tuerck
6 Vaughn Gittin JR
5 Kenny Moen
4 Chelsea Denofa
3 Mike Essa
2 Darren McNamara
1 Dai Yoshihara

Matt Powers Has an Awesome Race Suit for 2013

Matt Powers showed off his race suit at Long Beach today in the form of a tuxedo with a red bow. Matt continues to crack us all up at Wrecked over the years and this was a perfect step up of humor for us. His new partners Katech and Fatlace are in for a great treat.

Matt Powers Shows off his Fatlace 2013 Formula Drift Livery

Finally we have grabbed some photos of Matt Powers S14 for the 2013 Formula Drift season. We already covered Matt’s insane 463CI engine in another post which was built by Katech Performance. Need for Speed stepped away from Matt after a couple seasons of partnership but now Matt Powers is with the lifestyle/clothing brand Fatlace. He carries Nitto Tire, ACT Clutch, and Seibon Carbon from old seasons and releases his best looking livery to date in my opinion. What do you think of his new car?


Photo Credit:

Matt Powers Katech Built 463ci LS Engine and 2013 Livery Preview

Matt Powers shows off his 463ci LS Engine that he will be running for the 2013 Formula Drift season. The photos are of the car sitting on an engine dyno getting tuned and ready for the new season. Matt has brought on new title sponsor with Fatlace and has Katech Performance helping him with this over the top engine package. You can pick up top LS engine products from The motor includes a RHS engine block, ported LS7 heads, ACT Clutch and a FAST LSXR 102mm manifold. What do you think of Matt Powers setup?

Matt Powers Show Off his International Demo Car – Fatlace and Nitto Tire

Matt Powers took to Instagram showing off his international demo S14 Nissan 240sx. The rumros of his Fatlace partnership seem to be confirmed looking over his car heading to Panama. The car is title sponsored by Nitto Tire and Fatlace which overall looks similar to one of his old FD liveries. What do you think he was putting together for the 2013 season in Formula Drift?  The Panama International event will see him joined by Justin Pawlak, Odi Bakchis, and Joon Maeng.

2013 Formula Drift Official Drivers List for Streets of Long Beach

Here is the official list of drivers who are paid and ready to head out for Streets of Long Beach. You will notice an absense of Rhys Millen but an addition of an open wheel racing star. Please remember that the * denotes anyone who is eligible for rookie of the year in 2013.
Saito, Daigo
Gittin, Vaughn Jr.
Pawlak, Justin
Tuerck, Ryan
Aasbo, Fredric
Yoshihara, Daijiro
Gushi, Ken
Grunewald, Conrad
Powers, Matt
Forsberg, Chris
Essa, Mike
Nishida, Robbie
McQuarrie, Tyler
Yoshioka, Toshiki
Bakchis, Odi
Denofa, Chelsea
Wilkerson, Walker
Moen, Kenneth
Field, Matt
Kado, Ryan
Mohan, Kyle
Angelo, Tony
Maeng, Joon
McNamara, Darren
Mordaunt, Patrick
Aono, Taka
Mertzanis, Dennis
Ovcharik, Miroslav
Castro, Jhonnattan
George, Danny
Lee, Alex
Ward, Chris
Goodin, Patrick
Briggs, Dave
Hosford, Corey
Jones, Jeff
Cano Estrella, Carlos
Mendoza Jr., Enrique
Stone, Gabe
Thomas, Nick
Bostrom, Jason*
Graven, Otto
Hamilton, Nate*
Hateley, Andy
Hildebrand, J.R.*
Jacobs, Julian*
Jeanneret, Chris*
Kretschmer, Eugene*
Landerville, Marc*
Moore, Victor
Osaki, Karl*
Pakula, Luke*
Parsons, Will*
Primozich, Rob*
Steele, Josh*
Wang, Forrest
Wicknick, Brandon*
Kearney, Dean
Keezer, Kory*
Rydquist, Carl
Pollard, Mike

Matt Powers Partnering with Fatlace for the 2013 [RUMORMILL]

According to some teasers on Instagram it looks like a potential partnership is in the works between Matt Powers and the Fatlace/Illest brand. They both posted some teasers of each other talking about how things are coming as a preview. Another word is that EA/Need for Speed has left Matt Powers program in 2013 so he clearly would be interested in bringing in a new partner.