Formula D

Formula Drift Announces a Branded Canada Series for 2015


Formula Drift has licensed a complete series in Canada which will be known as Formula Drift Canada. DMCC has been dwindling to nothing over the past couple seasons so a new series seems to be needed that will travel around Quebec. No information appears to be available yet on how a FD Canada license will work when moved into the USA series as a Pro 1 or Pro 2 pass into the next season. Here is the tentative 2015 FD Canada calendar below:

Formula D Canada 2015 Calendar
Round 1: June 21, Autodrome St-Eustache
Round 2: July 18, Montmagny Autodrome
Round 3: August 7-8, Trois-Rivières Grand Prix
World Championship Round: September 6-7, Autodrome St-Eustache

Alec Hohnadell Partners Up with Get Nutz Lab for 2015 Formula Drift Season


Alec Hohnadell announced his partnership with Forrest Wang and the Get Nutz Lab crew for the 2015 drifting season. We have already reported on Forrest Wang’s new car plans/rumors for 2015. The partnership looks pretty interesting and could help both drivers advance forward. No word on if Alec will be undergoing other major changes like sponsorships and if Forrest Wang will be helping Alec advance on the driving side of things as well. We imagine the partnership can be huge dividends for both teams. Forrest Wang really took the world by storm this year with some mind blowing qualifying runs such as the one he threw down at Texas Motor Speedway this year.

Pat Mordaunt Leaves ARK Officially After One Season


We have heard word that Patrick Mordaunt and the ARK Drift Team has split ways for 2015. Patrick Mordaunt was given the underpowered lambda v6 version of the twin ARK drift cars for the 14 season. He looked awesome in Long Beach when the motor on the car just let go. Instead of the team getting the car fixed it remained MIA for basically the whole entire season to just repair an engine issue. Meanwhile, we heard a rumor that Pat even rented the Retaks S13 out of his own pocket to keep going to gain points for 2014. If he didn’t, he would of easily lost his FD Pro 1 license like his teammate Dennis Mertzanis did. The whole program left us scratching our heads before the season even started if you remember correctly. Why did they build two identical looking cars? Why did these identical cars have vastly different engine setups and builds in every other aspect? It seems like the program got in way over its head for last year and it will be curious to see what they attempt to do in 2015 along with both drivers.

Daigo Saito’s Nissan GT-R All Taken Apart – Getting Ready for Formula Drift 2015 [SNAPSHOT]


WOW! Someone sent us this insane photo of Daigo Saito’s Nissan GT-R project at his new shop in Japan. The car is currently under construction for the 2015 Formula Drift season. We still cannot get over the tire size Daigo Saito is set to run for 2015. We reported on the tire size back around the 2014 SEMA Show but Ken Gushi was kind enough to show off how ridiculous a 295/35/21 drift tire is by rolling it over next to a common drift setup and taking a photo side by side.


Daigo Saito’s tire setup will be a 295/35R/21 in the rear and a 275/35/21 provided from the Achilles ATR Sport 2

Vaughn Gittin Jr. and Drift Alliance Celebrate 50 Years of Fun [VIDEO]

Here is Vaughn Gittin Jr. and his fellow Drift Alliance teammates hopping in Ford Mustang’s of all eras for this Ford Racing “50 Years of Fun” piece which brings together the celebration of the Ford Mustang. Watch some cars from every era get sideways in this cool piece.

Vote for Dean Kearney’s 2015 livery


Dean Kearney’s title sponsor Oracle Lighting is holding a poll on their Facebook Page to help choose the livery for the 2015 Formula D season. Both liveries were designed on Forza, and these two finalists were narrowed down from several other entries. Both entries have some clear influences from previous liveries that both Kearney and Sam Hubinette have worn on previous Dodge Viper drift cars. Which design do you like better?

Livery Design #1 (white):



Livery Design #2 (red):


Dreamride Los Angeles with Fredric Aasbo [VIDEO]

Fredric Aasbo finds himself in downtown Los Angeles and Willow Springs in a new video called Dreamride LA. The video shows his Scion tC taking on some downtown Los Angeles streets with a unique passenger. Sit down and buckle up as Fredric Aasbo throws down some out of this world driving around the mean streets of downtown Los Angeles.


Conrad Grunewald adds twin turbo and nitrous for 2015 season



Conrad Grunewald confirmed with us that the BRE Motorsports team will be building out a brand new engine package for 2015, pairing up two Garrett turbochargers with a nitrous setup and a box full of supporting parts from Scoggin Dickey to push some big horsepower numbers in his Chevy Camaro demo car.There have been a few photos trickling in over social media over the past month or so, but it looks like all the piping is in the final stages of fabrication. The car pictured is the 2010 to 2012 chassis that was built for the SEMA show, not the ‘new’ chassis BRE built in 2013. This car will be used for demos and exhibitions, and on display at all FD events, but will NOT be the main powerplant of his competition car. The horsepower wars continue!

UPDATE: This powerplant will be for a demo car. The main competition car will remain a naturally-aspirated LS7 + nitrous

Chris Jeanneret – 2014 Formula D Season Review [VIDEO]

Chris Jeanneret had a frustrating year in Formula Drift with his Honda S2000 drift car. This video feature gives you a round-by-round rundown of what happened at each round with Jeanneret and the Speedfactory team. Jeanneret has told us that he will be running the Pro 2 class during the 2015 Formula Drift season.

FBF – James Deane vs. Darren McNamara Was Awesome [VIDEO]

The 2015 year is kicking off a little slow so I dug up this video from the Wrecked Magazine Archives. This video takes us back to 2010 when James Deane arrived in America and given the keys to a “crappy and undriveable” S15 Silvia that had been campaigned with little success in previous Formula Drift years by other drivers. Legend has it, James Deane and his team flew to Amreica, had one test day and threw an alignment at it which resulted in him qualifying for Streets of Long Beach. In an emotionally charged run to the Final Four he wound up running his Irish compatriot Darren McNamara who helped him come to the States in the first place. He sent Darren McNamara packing after this wild wall smacking performance in the Great 8. He went on to battle Tanner Foust in the Final Four and lost but what a run he had that weekend. We have been big cheerleaders on his return to the States but nobody has coughed up a ride for him just yet while he wins everything in Europe over and over again. If you want to learn more about James Deane, I did a really fun interview with him when he was visiting the United States a while back which you can see here.