2013 Formula D Palm Beach Qualifying Order [RESULTS]

After two passes in the humid Florida air, Justin Pawlak rose above the rest of the pack to claim the top qualifier position. Pawlak won the first event at Palm Beach Raceway back in 2011, so he seems quite comfortable on track. Here’s the full qualifying order:

1 – Justin Pawlak

2 – Kenneth Moen

3 – Daigo Saito

4 – Chris Forsberg

5 – Mats Baribeau (R)

6 – Dai Yoshihara

7 – Vaughn Gittin Jr

8 – Dave Briggs

9 – Tony Angelo

10 – Conrad Grunewald

11 – Matt Field

12 – Taka Aono

13 – Ryan Tuerck

14 – Miro Ovcharik

15 – Chelsea Denofa

16 – Chris Ward

17 – Robbie Nishida

18 – Fredric Aasbo

19 – Forrest Wang

20 – Odi Bakchis

21 – Mike Essa

22 – Brandon Wicknick (R)

23 – Darren McNamara

24 – Joon Maeng

25 – Jeremy Lowe

26 – Ryan Kado

27 – Danny George

28 – Tyler McQuarrie

29 – Dean Kearney

30 – Pat Goodin

31 – Jeff Jones

32 – Kyle Mohan

Notable names who did not make the cut include Ken Gushi, Walker Wilkerson, and Matt Powers.

Here are how the tandem battles are shaping up:

1 Pawlak vs 32 Mohan
16 Ward vs 17 Nishida
8 Briggs vs 25 Lowe
9 Angelo vs 24 Maeng

4 Forsberg vs 29 Kearney
13 Tuerck vs 20 Bakchis
5 Baribeau vs 28 McQuarrie
12 Aono vs 21 Essa

2 Moen vs 31 Jones
15 DeNofa vs 18 Aasbo
7 Gittin Jr vs 26 Kado
10 Grunewald vs 23 McNamara

3 Saito vs 30 Goodin
14 Ovcharik vs 19 Wang
6 Yoshihara vs 27 George
11 Field vs 22 Wicknick

Jacob Leveton

Freelance Drift Correspondent at JacobPhoto
Jacob Leveton has worked as a freelance journalist for 12 years, specializing in drifting since the first professional competition landed on US shores in 2003. Leveton has worked with more than twenty print and online media outlets to provide unique drifting content.


  1. mike says:

    I felt like the judges were quite generous on jtp’s qualifying run..

  2. Scaifey86 says:

    Saito qualifying well, exactly what he didn’t do last year that could have lost him the championship. From those groups I can see pawlak and saito making it through to the top 4 with ease, the others are a bit heavy with talent and could go either way in some instances.

  3. Slider S15 says:

    Denofa vs Aasbo and Dmac vs Grunewald should be the tightest battles of Top 32

    Looking forward to it! 😀

  4. haymaker says:

    not surprised about wilkerson not making it.

  5. cody says:

    Glad to see Taka finally making progress. No Mike Peters comments yet? Somebody is slacking.

  6. haymaker says:

    he probably choked to death after seeing how well tangelotion did

  7. Brian says:

    YEAH! 2 Canadians in the top
    10!!! WUDUP!

  8. Dongsalad says:

    What’s up Mike Peters? Tony Angelo qual’d 9th…….you still douching it up at Autozone?

  9. Ryan says:

    wow no Powers!!! Gushi, or Yoshioka?

  10. bigmac says:

    good on mats 5th is really impressive. this new qualifying thing seems to be great for some and horribly for others i guess some people just really need a qualifying run where they can take it easy and others are good to go balls to the wall right off the bat.

  11. Mike Peters says:

    I love bad bitches that’s my fuckin problem!

  12. Mike Peters says:

    Don’t know what’s more surprising, TA qualifying or Matt Powers NOT qualifying.

  13. Mike Peters says:

    4th non Mike Peters post not by Mike Peters.

    I’ve lost count of time this is Tony Angelo still didn’t make the cut. Nobody cares about making top 32.